Praying For Rain In Melbourne

Image by Getty Images via Daylife

Standing by for a little more excitement in the second Grand Prix of the 2010 championship today in Australia. Rain is forecast around 15 minutes from the start which will prompt a flurry of pit stops and perhaps a shuffling of the deck as the teams compete to get in and out of the tight Melbourne pit lane (hampered by the slower 60 km/h speed limit and 55 metre clearance required on releasing drivers back into the lane from the pit). In fact, 10 mins from the start, the rain is now spitting down intermittently and strengthening.

Lewis is languishing in 11th on the grid and clearly rattled by the performance of his team-mate, Jensen, and his own misdemeanors off-track and you have to question Hamilton’s maturity and whether he is missing his father Anthony steadying influence. Once again, Seb Vettel is on pole in the Red Bull with homeboy Mark Webber beside him. Next to Ferrari’s Alonso is Jensen Button in an excellent 4th on the grid and ahead of the Mercedes Brawn pairing of Rosberg and Schuie.

Its a wonderful season already in terms of the driver / team mixes, including a welcome return from Schumacher. The racing has been less inspiring and it can only be hoped that the weather spices up the Aussie event. Off we go…..

The Grid

1 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault
2 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault
3 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
4 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
5 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari
6 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP
7 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP
8 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth
9 11 Robert Kubica Renault
10 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes
11 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
12 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari
13 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes
14 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari
15 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth
16 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari
17 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari
18 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault
19 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth
20 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth
21 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth
22 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth
23 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth
24 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth